VEGAN CYCLING

ਮਨਜੀਤ ਕੌਰ
CARMEN MICKLEY

SOLO FEMALE CYCLING AROUND THE WORLD

FOR

HUMAN RIGHTS + ANIMAL RIGHTS + ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

now in Asia

It's my second time in Asia and I love it so much. I will cross Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, China, Nepal, Myanmar, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan. After that I will make new plans.

my project

I´m social worker for human Rights, animal rights and environmental protection. On tour I support diffrent projects in the world and share informations with the people about the context of global business, human rights and climatic change. 

Ich bin Sozialarbeiter für Menschenrechte, Tierrechte und Umweltschutz. Auf Tour unterstütze ich verschiedene Projekte auf der ganzen Welt und teile Informationen mit Menschen über den Kontext globaler Wirtschaft, Menschenrechte und Klimawandel.

my travels

VEGAN WORLD FRIENDSHIP TOUR
solo cycling around the world from 2015 to 2018
3 years - 41.250 km - 31 countries


CYCLING FOR FUTURE TOUR
solo cycling around the world since 2020
so far 30.000 km

my bicycle

I bought my bicycle in 2014 in Germany, before I started my world bike touring. Its a 26" steel frame travelling bicycle frome my neighbourhood in Hamburg. It has a Rohloff speedhub with 14 gears, v-brakes and 2 kickstands to hold the fully loaded bike with 60 kg. 
I carry 6 bags. 1 bag for my tools and parts to repair the bike, 1 bag for sleeping bag and matress, 1 bag for summer- and winterclothes, 1 kitchen with petrolcooker, gascooker, electrocooker and food for the next 4 days, 1 bag for my tent and Ukulele and my handlebag.

Über mich - about me

I love cycling. In everyday life, in sports, to relax: I always cycle. I have to admit that I have several wheels for different uses. Of course, at some point I also came up with the bike tour, because I am totally curious. It is fascinating to immerse myself in foreign cultures and discover new countries. To see how people live together. And even then to be alone in nature again. It is wonderful to sit in the tent at night in the desert and look at the stars. Or to climb a mountain and enjoy the scenery and silence under a bright sky. 

my journey into Sikhi

When I supported the organic farmers in Panjab on my biketour around the world, I was living in the homes of the Sikhs. I saw, how they were living in whithin their spirituality in this daily life. I went with Grandma and Grandpa to Gurudwara Sahib and the children told me about this all shaheeds. That was quite impressive for me. So I started to learn about Sikh history and Gurbani, I went to many Gurudwara Sahibs to listen to the Shabads and to do meditation. Everything made sense to me and slowly, slowly I started to follow the teachings of the Gurus. After short time, I started to read Nitnem in english translation. But with the englisch translation and explanation, the poem is lost, so I decided to do it in Gurmukhi. For this I cycled to Damdama Sahib and asked Guru Granth Sahib Ji Maharaj for help to learn Gurmukhi.
So then I learned Gurmukhi alphabet and slowly, slowly I learned how to read words. After that, I did the Japji Sahib Santhia on Youtube with Bhai Jagraj Singh, Basics of Sikhi. That was really soooo much helpful. 
After some time I was able to read Japji Sahib in Gurmukhi every day on my own. 
I was quite happy for that and when my reading speed of Japji Sahib was 18 minutes, I felt ready to work on the other daily prayers.
So I went to the next Gurudwara Sahib on my road, which was in Nairobi, Kenya and asked for help.
With Maharajs kirpa I found Simranjeet Singh, my Gurbani teacher. 
We did Santhia for the other daily banis and after 1 year, I was able to read 5 bania in the morning in whithin 2 1/2 hours. With was quite long. But I read every day, that my reading speed went to 1 hour in whithin one year. After that I felt ready for Amrit, but thats difficult in Africa. So I came back to Asia.  
At September 10, 2023 I gave my head to the Guru and took Amrit in Kuala Lumpur. 
Thats why I have a new name now. 
ਮਨਜੀਤ ਕੌਰ - Manjeet Kaur, means who conquers the mind.  Thats my Hukam. So now I m officially enrolled in the school of Sikhi and I have to learn so much more. Lets see, if I have enough lifetime to learn everything I need to know.

Mein Buch - my book

 

In my book VEGAN WORLD FRIENDSHIP TOUR you can experience the adventure of my first trip.  I wrote the book in German and English, so that my international friends can read the book too.
All chapters are clearly structured in both languages, so that it can also be used to support language study. 

In meinem Buch VEGAN WORLD FRIENDSHIP TOUR kannst Du das Abenteuer meiner ersten Reise miterleben.  Ich habe das Buch in Deutsch und Englisch verfasst, damit auch meine internationalen Freunde das Buch lesen können.
Alle Kapitel sind in beiden Sprachen klar gegliedert, so daß es auch zur Unterstützung des Sprachunterrichts benutzt werden kann.

Hello friends. Do you have any question?

Please do not hesitate to contact me, if you have any question. We can talk about new projects in German or English.